Embassy Theatre Announces Board of Directors for 2021-22

Fort Wayne, Ind. (September 29, 2021) – The Embassy Theatre has announced the 2021-22 board of directors.

Two board members were elected by the Embassy Theatre Foundation governance committee to a three-year term (Sept. 1, 2021-Aug. 31, 2024):

Whitney Bandemer – Principal, WB Consulting, LLC. Prior to founding her own business she spent 15 years as an executive in higher education in Virginia and Indiana. Bandemer was an Embassy board member from 2014-20, serving as vice chair from 2016-18 and board chair from 2018-20 and currently serves as the chair of the fundraising task force.

Jermaine Thomas – District Chief – Health and Safety, Fort Wayne Fire Department. Jermaine has served on the department for 18 years in the roles of firefighter, captain fire inspector and fire department recruiter/community liaison. He served as an intern on the Embassy board in 2020-21.

Three board members were re-elected to a second three-year term (Sept. 1, 2021-Aug. 31, 2024):

Angela Grant – Vice President, Commercial Lending, Premier Bank. Angela currently serves on the Embassy finance committee and previously served on the revenue and 90th anniversary task forces for the Embassy.

Kara Kelley – President, Asher Agency. Kara currently serves as chair of the Embassy strategic plan task force.

Tracy Shellabarger – Retired, Steel Dynamics and community volunteer. Tracy is an Embassy Marquee Circle member and currently serves on the Embassy finance committee and chairs the audit committee.

Officers for 2021-22 are as follows: Casey Keirn, Director – Business Plan Communications, Lincoln Financial Group, chair; W. Thomas (Tommy) Smith, Dean – Pharmacy Programs, Manchester University, vice chair; Susan Wesner, Controller, Greater Fort Wayne, Inc., treasurer; and Elizabeth Frederick, Retired – Lincoln National Corporation and community volunteer, secretary.

Other Embassy board members include: Mike Bynum, Director – Labor and Community Services, United Way of Allen County; Christina Gibb, Community Engagement Manager, Fort Wayne Metals; Lisa Givan, Vice President – Institutional Diversity, Equity & Belonging and Chief Diversity Officer, Indiana Tech; Jason Johnson, Senior Vice President – IT, Sweetwater Sound; Thomas Marcuccilli, Chairman & President, STAR Financial Group; Robert Nickerson, Retired – Parkview Health and community volunteer (also Embassy Founder); Christopher Nusbaum, Partner, Carson LLP; Jolynn Suko, Senior Vice President and Chief Innovation Officer, Parkview Health; and Valentine White-Xayarath, Agent, State Farm Insurance.

In 2020, the Embassy board worked alongside staff to modify its mission and values to align with the organization’s current strategic plan.


The Embassy Theatre enriches the cultural life of the region by providing a wide range of arts and entertainment experiences in a historic venue.


Stewardship: The Embassy effectively utilizes its human and financial resources and places special importance on ensuring its designation as a Historic Landmark for years to come.

Excellence: The Embassy strives for excellence in programming, customer service and community engagement.

Diversity, Inclusion and Community: The Embassy supports the vibrancy of the communities it serves through inclusive and diverse leadership, staff and programs.


Programming at the Embassy Theatre is made possible by the support of the Indiana Arts Commission, Arts United of Greater Fort Wayne, and the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency.